Do Utah’s overtime regulations differ from those imposed by the federal government?
The state of Utah does not regulate overtime. Because of this, the state only abides by federal overtime regulations. Make sure to contact a Henderson Employment Litigation Attorney for help.
Is Utah’s minimum wage different from that set by the federal government?
The ongoing minimum wage in Utah is $7.25, the exact same as the federal minimum wage. Employers may pay tipped workers Cash wages of $2.13 per hour, provided that when combined with tips, this amount matches the min wage of $7.25 per 60 minutes. Tipped workers are those who get at least $30 in tips each month.
Only workers who are not insured by the federal minimum wage clause are subject to Utah’s minimum wage:
- exterior salespeople
- employees who are immediate family members of their employer
- Employees who provide companionship for people who are unable to take care of themselves
- Casual and household workers
- seasonal staff members of nonprofit camping programs, religious groups, and nonprofit charitable and educational institutions
- Federal workers
- Employees involved in livestock raising on a range
- Harvest workers receive piece-rate payment.
- Agricultural workers who worked in agriculture for fewer than 13 weeks in the year prior
- retired or semi-retired people who are required to work in agriculture on a part-time or occasional basis to live on a farm or ranch.
- During the first 90 days of employment, minors (those under the age of 18) may be paid at a lesser rate of $4.25 per hour.
Do Utah counties or localities have a minimum wage that is distinct from what is required by state or federal law?
No. A statute prohibiting Utah’s cities and counties from enacting their own minimum wage regulations was approved in 2001. As a result, all employees in the state are paid the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour, or $2.13 per hour, for those who receive tips.
Contrary to federal law, is there a requirement for meal and rest breaks in Utah?
Only minors are required by Utah law to get food and rest breaks from their employers (under 18). Employers must give minors a meal break that lasts at least 30 minutes but no later than five hours after the start of the workday.
How can I make a claim for wages, hours, or labor laws in Utah?
You can submit a wage claim to the Labor Commission of Utah online if your company owes you between $50 and $10,000 in pay. A wage claim may also be submitted manually.
The Commission can look into the claim, hold hearings, and make decisions that compel your employer to make payments. A final order may be appealed to a court within 30 days following the order if you or your employer are dissatisfied with the procedure. The Commission can impose a fine on your employer, part that will be reimbursed to you, in addition to getting the pay you are due.