Unveiling the Expansive Outlander Series: How Many Books Are There?

by padrenuestroyavemaria
0 comment
how many outlander books are there


The Outlander series, penned by the talented author Diana Gabaldon, has captivated readers worldwide with its blend of historical fiction, romance, and time-travel elements. Set against the backdrop of Scotland and other intriguing locations, this beloved saga has garnered an ardent following. One common question among fans is just how many books comprise the Outlander series. In this article, we will delve into the world of Outlander and explore the number of books in the series, guiding you through an exciting literary journey.

The Origins of Outlander

Before we dive into the book count, it’s essential to understand the roots of the Outlander series. Diana Gabaldon began her writing journey with the first book, “Outlander” (published as “Cross Stitch” in the United Kingdom), which debuted in 1991. The novel introduced readers to the iconic characters of Claire Randall and Jamie Fraser, setting the stage for a sweeping adventure that spans continents and centuries.

Expanding Horizons: The Main Outlander Novels

The Outlander series has since expanded into a collection of main novels, each weaving a captivating tapestry of history, romance, and intrigue. As of my knowledge cutoff in September 2021, there are currently nine main books in the series. These include:

a) Outlander (1991) b) Dragonfly in Amber (1992) c) Voyager (1994) d) Drums of Autumn (1997) e) The Fiery Cross (2001) f) A Breath of Snow and Ashes (2005) g) An Echo in the Bone (2009) h) Written in My Own Heart’s Blood (2014) i) Go Tell the Bees That I Am Gone (release date not yet confirmed as of September 2021)

Digging Deeper: Novellas and Companion Books

Beyond the main series, Diana Gabaldon has expanded the Outlander universe through a collection of novellas and companion books. These supplementary publications provide readers with additional insights into the lives and adventures of beloved characters. Notable novellas include “The Space Between” and “A Leaf on the Wind of All Hallows,” while companion books like “The Outlandish Companion” offer a wealth of behind-the-scenes information and author commentary.

The Lord John Grey Series

Within the Outlander universe, Diana Gabaldon has also crafted a series of novels and novellas centered around Lord John Grey, a compelling secondary character. While the Lord John Grey series is a separate entity, it intersects with the main Outlander storyline, offering readers a broader perspective on the expansive narrative. As of September 2021, there are five books and several novellas in the Lord John Grey series.

Television Adaptations and Beyond

The popularity of the Outlander books led to a successful television adaptation, bringing the characters and their adventures to life on the small screen. The television series has helped introduce new audiences to the Outlander universe, further expanding its reach and impact. Additionally, discussions and rumors about potential spin-offs and future developments in the Outlander franchise have sparked excitement among fans.


In conclusion, the Outlander series is a literary phenomenon that has captured the hearts and imaginations of readers around the world. With nine main books, numerous novellas, companion books, and a companion series dedicated to Lord John Grey, the Outlander universe continues to grow and enthrall fans. Whether you are a long-time reader or a newcomer to this captivating saga, the Outlander series offers a rich tapestry of historical drama, romance, and adventure to indulge in.

So, whether you’re a history enthusiast, a fan of sweeping romance, or simply seeking an exhilarating adventure, the Outlander series has something for everyone. From the vivid descriptions of 18th-century Scotland to the intricate plot twists that keep readers on the edge of their seats, Diana Gabaldon’s masterful storytelling transports you to another time and place.

The historical backdrop of the Outlander series is meticulously researched, offering readers a glimpse into the political and social landscapes of different eras. Gabaldon seamlessly weaves real events and figures into her narrative, providing an immersive experience that blends fiction and history in a truly captivating way. Readers can expect to encounter everything from the Jacobite uprising to the American Revolution, as well as various other historical periods and locations throughout the series.

At the heart of the Outlander series lies a passionate and enduring love story between Claire Randall and Jamie Fraser. Their connection transcends time and space, and their relationship is tested by numerous obstacles and trials. Gabaldon skillfully portrays their love, bringing to life a dynamic and complex relationship that resonates with readers on a deep emotional level. The series is renowned for its vividly depicted romantic moments that will make your heart soar.

However, the Outlander series is not solely focused on romance. It also offers a thrilling adventure that keeps readers eagerly turning the pages. From dangerous quests and battles to political intrigue and suspenseful plot twists, there is never a dull moment in the Outlander universe. The series balances its historical and romantic elements with action-packed sequences that will leave you breathless.

Moreover, the depth and complexity of the characters in the Outlander series add further richness to the narrative. Each character is flawlessly crafted, with their own unique motivations, strengths, and weaknesses. From the fierce and resilient Claire to the courageous and honorable Jamie, the characters in the series come alive, forging deep connections with readers and leaving a lasting impression.

In conclusion, the Outlander series is a literary gem that offers a rich tapestry of historical drama, romance, and adventure. With its well-researched historical settings, passionate love story, and thrilling escapades, this beloved saga has captured the hearts of readers worldwide. So, immerse yourself in the world of Outlander and get ready for an unforgettable literary journey that will transport you to a time and place filled with love, danger, and unyielding resilience.

You may also like

Leave a Comment